Press Release

2019

Thursday May 9, 2019

The AFNQL Warns Against Impostors

Wednesday April 24, 2019

JUSTICE FOR FIRST NATIONS WOMEN: THE AFNQL WILL REQUEST THE UNITED NATIONS’ INTERVENTION

Wednesday April 10, 2019

Territorial Integrity Quebec: You are Forgetting the Right of First Nations to Self-determination

Tuesday March 21, 2019

What the Federal Budget Forgot

Friday March 8, 2019

The AFNQL Marks International Women’s Day

Thursday February 28, 2019

Tabling of Bill C-92: Recognition of the rights and jurisdiction of Aboriginal peoples regarding child and family services

Tuesday February 19, 2019

ADISQ Creates the Félix Award for Indigenous Artist of the Year

Monday February 18, 2019

Important Announcement Regarding the Indigenous Music Industry and ADISQ

Thursday February 14, 2019

The AFNQL Stands with Jody Wilson-Raybould

Wednesday February 6, 2019

The AFNQL Welcomes Bill C-91 on Indigenous Languages

The AFNQL Supports the Innu Nation in its Commitment to Fighting Drug Trafficking and Abuse

Thursday January 31, 2019

Compliance with the Firearms Registry: The AFNQL Considers that the Legault Government Is Missing the Target

Wednesday January 30, 2019

Mr. Ghislain Picard Re-elected for a Three-Year Term as Chief of the AFNQL

Wednesday January 23, 2019

Quebec listens to the Québécois but not First Nations

2018

Thursday December 13, 2018

Viens Commission: The AFNQL intends to call on international organizations

Friday November 30, 2018

Tabling of a federal bill regarding the jurisdiction of First Nations in the field of child protection: A step closer to the self-government and self-determination of our peoples

Tuesday November 27, 2018

Apuiat Wind Project: The Response Must Be Political

Thursday November 22, 2018

AFNQL and FNEC Condemn Media Attack on First Nations for History Textbook Changes Across Quebec

Wednesday November 21, 2018

Improving the living conditions of First Nations and Inuit children: It’s time for collective action

Saturday November 17, 2018 

The AFNQL Mourns the Passing of Algonquin Chief Harry St. Denis

Thursday November 1, 2018

Apuiat Project – Opportunity to Build a Political Relationship on a Solid Foundation

Monday October 22, 2018

Enquête TV Program on Abuses Committed by the Oblates Impunity Must Stop

Friday October 19, 2018

The AFNQL commends the members of the Legault Cabinet and quickly wants to start working to renew the political relationship

Monday October 1st, 2018

AFNQL congratulates François Legault – Chief Ghislain Picard expects a new political relationship between Quebec and First Nations

Wednesday September 26, 2018

Wood Production Strategy: First Nations must have their say

Wednesday September 26, 2018

The Centre Mihawoso project in Manawan must be approved – Discrimination against children’s fundamental rights must be stopped

Tuesday September 25, 2018

Sovereignty will indeed be on the next government’s agenda: First Nations sovereignty!

Tuesday September 18, 2018

Quebec English Electoral Debate: The AFNQL Underlines the Recognition of First Nations as a Solution to Labor Shortage

Friday, September 14, 2018

Chief Ghislain Picard appears before the Viens Commission

Wednesday, September 12, 2018

A New Basis for Reconciliation Needed

2016

Friday, November 18, 2016
The AFNQL supports First Nations women and honors their courage and resilience

Wednesday, November 16, 2016
AFNQL Supports the First Nation Women Who Dared to Break the Silence and Report Abuse by Police Officers

Wednesday, August 17, 2016
National Inquiry into Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls: the Couillard Government Continues to refuse to Meet its Responsibilities and Hides behind the Feds

Tuesday, August 16, 2016
Bill 106: The Couillard Government Persists in its Dismissive Attitude

Wednesday, June 15, 2016
THE ASSEMBLY OF FIRST NATIONS QUEBEC-LABRADOR IS PROUD TO SUPPORT INITIATIVES THAT CONTRIBUTE TO THE HEALTH AND WELLNESS OF YOUTHS

Wednesday, June 15, 2016
FIRST NATIONS OF QUEBEC OFFICIALLY OPPOSE ENERGY EAST PIPELINE

Friday, May 20, 2016
FIRST NATIONS CLASSIC – GOLF LE GRAND VALLON – June 17, 2016

Monday, March 21, 2016
Federal budget: A good start for First Nations

Monday, February 15, 2016
Lac Simon Tragedy: The AFNQL expresses its condolences to the grieving families